The Power of the FSPHP

Hi, my name is Sean. I am currently a resident dealing with the state medical board and the physicians health monitoring program (PHMP) here in Pennsylvania. A long story short I was a victim of attempted murder and theft. While under medical treatment and shock I gave conflicting stories to detectives resulting in charges. Fortunately one of the charges was dropped in court due to lack of evidence and the other I had to do a diversion program that was finished this year. All of these charges were expunged. The charge dropped in court was a alcohol related charge.

So three days before my start date here in PA I was sent a letter of concern stating they gave me my temporary license with the stipulation that I must be evaluated by the PHMP. If I do not follow the treatment plan put forth by the PHMP they will take my license with disciplinary action. Now I am being thrown down the rabbit hole for a charge that had no factual basis in the first place. I have consulted legal advice and I am fighting this until the end. Even if they destroy my career.

With all of this said I have read about the injustice this program does to physicians, nurses, pharmacists, medical and nursing students, etc. I want to hear from anyone that has dealt with this program. I do believe that patients should be protected from healthcare providers that are a danger but how far should the abuse go.

Leave a comment